J Lawton Smith Award Recipients

cos weblogo 88c




Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.


The J Lawton Smith Award is given out each year at the COS Annual Meeting to an ophthalmologist who has shown a lifetime commmitment to serving the Lord through their personal practice of excellence in medicine, academic influence, and/or missionary dedication.  These outstanding ophthalmologists have demonstrated "practicing first class medicine in the spirit of love", a phrase introduced by Dr. Brad Farris to describe J Lawton Smith, one of the COS Founders.

The previous recipients are:

Year Name City, State
1992 Ronald L. Seely, MD Tampa, FL
1993 Hollis W. Clark, MD Ft. Lauderdale, FL
1994 Noval E. Christy, MD Duarte, CA
1995 David G. Haney, MD McAllen, TX
1996 Van Joffrion, MD Baton Rouge, LA
1997 Margaret Brand, MD Seattle, WA
1998 Jack C. Cooper, MD Dallas, TX
1999 J. James Rowsey, MD Tampa, FL
2000 Curtis D. Benton, Jr, MD Ft. Lauderdale, FL
2001 Lowell Gess, MD Alexandria, MN
2002 Glen Brindley, MD and Bill Rowlett, MD Temple, TX ; Hopkinsville, KY
2003 Frank Winter, MD La Jolla, CA
2004 J. Donald M. Gass, MD Nashville, TN
2005 Roger DeHaven, MD Tyler, TX
2006 John Costin, MD Lorraine, OH
2007 Bill Jarrett, MD Atlanta, GA
2008 Juan Batlle, MD Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep.
2009 William Conrad, MD Warner Robins, GA
2010 James P Gills, MD Tarpon Springs, FL
2011 Robert Serros, MD Orlando, FL
2012 Paul Palmberg, MD Miami, FL
2013 Brad Farris, MD Oklahoma City, OK
2014 Enoch Tsai, MD Aiken, SC
2015 Bert Bowden, MD Huntsville, AL
2016 George Chin, MD Seattle, WA
2017 Kyle Smith, MD Temple, TX
2018 Dan Gold, MD Palestine, TX
2019 Glenn Strauss, MD Tyler, TX
2020 Jono Pons, MD Siteki, Eswatini
2021 Robert Rice, MD San Antonio, TX